Understanding Your Rights After A Motorcycle Ticket
When people think of traffic tickets, they usually think of automobile tickets. Many traffic lawyers in Detroit may say that they specialize in tickets, but what they really mean is that they routinely handle automobile traffic tickets. If you have a motorcycle ticket, call [nap_names id=”FIRM-NAME-1″]. I have helped hundreds of riders fight and beat their motorcycle tickets.
In Michigan, motorcyclists are not only subject to all the laws that apply to car operators, but they are also subject to several additional laws. If they run afoul of one of these motorcycle laws, it is important that they contact an attorney who has extensive experience with motorcycle tickets.
Michigan Motorcycle Traffic Ticket Laws
Michigan’s motor vehicle laws that apply specifically to motorcycles are set forth in the Michigan Motorcycle Operator Manual. This manual can be obtained at any Michigan secretary of state branch office. Reviewing this manual thoroughly before you get on your motorcycle is highly recommended to avoid getting a motorcycle traffic ticket. Here are a few important highlights to keep in mind:
- Do you have a “CY” endorsement on your license? Without a CY endorsement indicating the proper training has been obtained, a motorcyclist risks being charged for a misdemeanor offense, resulting in a fine up to $300 and points on their license.
- Do you have a motorcycle helmet? Motorcyclists under 21 years of age must wear a helmet when riding or operating a motorcycle on Michigan’s roads. Moped riders under 19 years of age must wear a helmet while operating a moped. Motorcyclists over 21 can go without a helmet but must have proof of motorcycle insurance in addition to proof of first-party medical benefits of at least $20,000, a motorcycle endorsement for a minimum of two years and proof of passing a state-approved motorcycle safety course.
- Does your helmet meet the U.S. standards for safety? Motorcycle helmets must meet the U.S. Department of Transportation standards.
- Is your motorcycle properly equipped? A motorcycle in Michigan is required to be equipped with adequate seats and securely attached footrests or pegs for all riders. The handlebars of a motorcycle must not be higher than 15 inches from the lowest point of the undepressed saddle to the highest point of the handle grips. Clearance and marker lamps and reflectors that must be mounted on the front (or on the sides, near the front) of the bike should display an amber color, and those that must be mounted on the rear (or on the sides, near the rear) of the bike should display a red color.
- Is your lighting equipment functioning? All lighting equipment must be functioning, including license plate lamps, headlamps, spot and fog lamps, and brake lights.
- How loud is your bike? State law imposes various restrictions and limitations on motorcycle noise.
Failure to comply with any of these regulations can result in a motorcycle traffic ticket.
Alcohol Is A Factor In Approximately 30% Of Michigan’s Fatal Motorcycle Crashes
For this reason, arresting officers are very serious about issuing motorcycle traffic tickets to impaired motorcycle operators. Operating a motorcycle, moped, quad and any other motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs comes with six points against a driver’s license. Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) carries four points.
For A Free Consultation, Call Today
If you have already received a traffic ticket while riding, you should contact an experienced motorcycle traffic ticket lawyer as soon as possible. For a free consultation, contact me today at [nap_phone id=”LOCAL-REGULAR-NUMBER-1″].